Tuesday, August 3, 2021

Stefani Nellen and Ann Stoney win 14th and 15th Danahy Fiction Prizes

Stefani Nellen

The editors of Tampa Review are thrilled to announce the winners of the 14th and 15th annual Danahy Fiction Prizes. The events of the previous year delayed the judging, resulting in our first simultaneous award. The winners are Stefani Nellen and Ann Stoney. Each will receive a cash prize of $1,000, and their winning stories will be published in the upcoming issue of Tampa Review.

Stefani Nellen, a German psychologist living in the Netherlands, is the winner of the fourteenth annual Danahy Fiction Prize with her story "Three Miles A Day." Nellen is a Clarion Workshop graduate with an MFA in Creative Writing from the Bennington Writing Seminars. Her stories appear in Guernica, AGNI, Glimmer Train, Third Coast, the Bellevue Literary Review, and elsewhere, won the Glimmer Train Fiction Open and the Montana Prize in Fiction (judged by Alexandra Kleeman), and were included in the Masters Review Anthology Vol. 9, selected by Rick Bass. 

Ann Stoney
Ann Stoney, of New York City, is the winner of the fifteenth annual Danahy Fiction Prize with her story "I am Pretty. I am Loved." Stoney was raised in Virginia and studied theatre at NYU. Between bread-and-butter jobs, she acted in many productions throughout the city and regionally, before embarking upon a career in education. Prior to writing short stories, she wrote poetry and performed her original songs at clubs in the metropolitan area. She holds a BFA in Acting from NYU, and an MA in Literacy from Jersey City University. Her first piece was published in the Ladies Home Journal. Since then, her writing has appeared in PIF Magazine, Duende and Strands Lit Sphere, among others. She has been recognized in several contests, placing in the finals in Tampa Review’s 2019 Danahy Fiction Prize, and Cutthroat Journal’s Rick De Marinis Short Story Contest. When she is not writing, she’s busy reviewing stories for the Bellevue Literary Journal.

The Danahy Fiction Prize was established by Paul and Georgia Danahy as an annual award for a previously unpublished work of short fiction judged by the editors of Tampa Review, the faculty-edited literary journal of the University of Tampa. The Danahy Fiction Prize is open to both new and widely published writers, with an annual postmark deadline of December 31. The $20 entry fee includes a one-year subscription to Tampa Review, and all entries submitted are considered for publication.

Complete guidelines are available on the Web at tampareview.org or by sending a self-addressed, stamped envelope to The Danahy Fiction Prize, University of Tampa Press, 401 West Kennedy Blvd., Tampa, FL 33606.